RSS

MAKE UP FOR EVER One Day Intensive Course

01 Sep

I bought a one day intensive makeup course with Make Up For Ever on a Groupon/City Deal for €79 which was a massive discount off their ‘voucher value price’ of €255.  I attended this course on Tuesday 30th August and thought I would do a review of it.

The one-day intensive course, which should in reality be entitled a 4-hour course kicked off at 10:00 a.m. in MUFE store, which is located on Clarendon Street in Dublin 2.  The training room is set up at the back of the store behind black velvet curtains, which incidentally don’t block out the sound of the hoover going or staff shouting in the store over said hoover.   There were 12 of us on the course, all booked with a Groupon voucher from what I could ascertain and it was a mixed group aged between 20 and 50.  Some were there with friends; there was a mum and daughter duo (what a lovely thing to do with your mum!!) and a few Billy-no-mates, like myself.   We were set up 2 to a station and I ended up beside a lovely lady from Wexford.  It was a friendly room, and Lauren who took the class was very competent and sweet.  I had a few gripes, and yeah okay I’ll admit that I’m a fussy tart about details of comfort but it did annoy me that there were 2 different height chairs for students, I ended up on one of the really high ones, which meant I had to bend down into the mirror set up on the counter to see myself in it.  We are talking the kind of high that means you are looking into your own crotch all day!!

The set up wasn’t great for 12 people to see what was going on either.  Lauren, our instructor, was set up at the top of the room with a model in a high chair, but while she stood to one side of her model she would lean in over the models face blocking my view about ¼ of the time.  In my opinion, the room was not really set up for that number of people.  A high swivel chair would have worked better rather than a static pointing forward seated position for the model so the instructor could turn the model around for everyone to see.   I use the word ‘model’, but in fact it was one of the ‘students’, a pretty young girl with lovely skin.  She was great as a model, but I reckon it was very unfair on her, she had paid her money to be on a course rather than be the subject matter of the course.  Personally I’d be hacked off, not that there was any chance of the instructor pulling my craggy face out of the crowd, but you sure would be super hacked off if you had paid the full price of €255 and didn’t get to observe the class in full.  Given the model was only required for a maximum of 2 hours, and the ‘take’ for the day was €948 (full price would have been €3,060), I think MUFE should have stumped up for a model for the session.   They may have compensated the girl they used by giving her some free product, I don’t know, but I hope so!

That aside, Lauren confidently and expertly brought us through a cleanse, a day makeup application and a smoky eye night time look, making beautiful use of MUFE diamond dust and HD cream blush.  The session was full of great tips, not only on application but on product selection too and I couldn’t fault them on that.

We broke for lunch at 12:00 for an hour, which frankly was too long; 30 to 40 minutes would have been perfectly adequate.  We reconvened at 14:00 and began by taking off what makeup we had on – oh the horror!!!!   Lauren was then joined by Aaron (I’m terrible with names, I think that’s what his name was), a lovely young guy with the most amazing eyebrows!!  Lauren took one half of the class and Mr. Amazing Eyebrows looked after the group I was in, he took us all one by one and went through what products would suit us best in terms of primers, foundation, blush colours etc. and helped us with the application, showing us how to best place eye shadow for our own eye shape, how and where to apply blusher and contouring products.  Patience of a saint!!  We were given the opportunity to try both night and day time looks that Lauren had shown us in the first half of the day and they were brilliant for supplying as many different samples as you wanted of any product.  I got samples of MUFE HD primer No. 7 that’s supposed to even out skin (big ask!!), MUFE Stop Shining Matifying Gel and Retexture Primer, that’s also supposed to even out the skin (another big ask!!).  I’ll do a separate review on these products at some stage.  I also got to have a go on the HD Elixir – instant radiance hydrating system – its is supposed to hydrate the driest and most marked areas such as the eye contour and line lines around the mouth.  After only one use I really couldn’t say if it did or didn’t do what it said on the tin, and I neglected to get a sample – doh so I’ll never know unless I buy it myself!

I wasn’t feeling well and got a bit bored (jaysus did I just say that!!  I must have a fever!) so I just did the day look, I’m happy enough with my own version of the ‘when smoke gets in your eye look’ and really just wanted to go home at that stage. So here’s my day make up, and please excuse the state of my hair, this was taken at about 6:00 p.m. when I was back home.

Day Make up - don't know why I'm pouting like that??

For your viewing pleasure, a close up on the eyes.  Not exactly setting the world on fire here I know, but I think it’s a nice polished office/work make up.. ahem.. well it might be if the hair was better!!

The brushes supplied are travel sized Face 2 brushes.  I knew the free brushes would be face 2 brushes but was surprised they were travel sized, but they were perfectly adequate.   There were 6 brushes in total; eye shadow, eye definer, eyeliner, eyebrow brush, lip brush, and a powder brush.  It definitely made me rethink my need to pull out 15 brushes every-time I put a bit of slap on.  If you do go on this course, bring your own foundation brush, if you use one, although they will supply you with one.  I found the one they gave me was very small in comparison to my MAC 190 brush and therefore I thought it was difficult to use, so I was kicking it old school with my fingertips.

Here are the brushes:

The brushes are on average about 5 - 6" long and are a deeper pink than the pic shows

I tried the face2 foundations, as I already have MUFE face and body, and Matt Velvet +, and I really wanted to try something different.  I have to say I didn’t like the face 2 foundations, the colours were fabulous but I really didn’t like the texture, I found them either too drying or a bit too moisturizing, talk about feeling like Goldie Locks!! I reckon I should have stuck to my face and body foundation, but sure you have to try new things!! Don’t get me wrong, it’s good quality product but just does not really suit me and my shiny nose – it just wouldn’t stay on it!  After a good sweep of the face2 pro concealer across my nose I decided it wasn’t all that bad.

The course finished around 3:00 p.m. and there was no rushing people out, they allowed everyone to finish up their makeup look in their own time, which was genuinely a nice experience, even if it did feel a bit unstructured towards to the end.  I’d have liked a final formal address from either Lauren or Mr. Amazing Eyebrows to bring it all to a close.

Overall, it was a great course and I reckon if you were a bit of a nervous Nelly with make up and wanted to get some top tips, and play with lots of gorgeous makeup then you’ll love it.  I have only a few criticisms, like the chair heights and the length of time for lunch, mainly because I am a fussy tart, but other more genuine criticisms would include the price, the numbers in the class, the setup and visibility.

For €79 it’s a good deal, with or without the brushes, but for €255, it’s a bit steep, I reckon for that money I’d want a one on one makeup lesson or at the very least fewer people in the class, perhaps only 2, maybe 4 at a push.

There was 10% off all products purchased on the day and I am proud to say that I restrained myself, although it took every fibre of my being not to ram raid the eye shadows (love MUFE eye shadows they are just so beautiful) but I did walk out with a face 2 pro concealer palette, and The Balm lip gloss ‘plump your pucker’ in cherry my cola, I’ll do a separate review of these.  I almost forgot to mention there was also a 10% discount offered on their 5 day course which is €995.

This was the very first Groupon deal I’ve ever purchased and I’m glad I did, and from what I over heard, MUFE won’t be offering this deal again until the New Year, but who knows that might change.

 
8 Comments

Posted by on September 1, 2011 in Blog, Brands, Makeup Forever

 

Tags: , , ,

8 responses to “MAKE UP FOR EVER One Day Intensive Course

  1. cornflakegirl

    September 1, 2011 at 2:55 pm

    It sounds like it was a good day despite the problems but there’s no way I’d pay €255 for this course, like you I’d expect a lot more for that kind of money.

    Thanks for the review and it’s a really nice neutral daytime look that you created.

     
    • themakeupgal

      September 1, 2011 at 3:19 pm

      Thanks Cornflakegirl!!! Hope I didn’t sound too negative about the course, it was good, but I am an awful fuss pot sometimes as Mr. Makeupgal would attest to 😉

       
  2. Emma Farrell

    September 4, 2011 at 10:36 am

    I would say it would be a great course for someone who would like to learn about make-up that has no previous skills. It was probably too basic for you 🙂 Defo great value at €79!

     
    • themakeupgal

      September 4, 2011 at 12:04 pm

      I reckon you’re right Emma, it’s a good course if you want to learn about makeup! But sure I’m a shocking bargain hunter and couldn’t resist going for that price!

       
  3. Emma Farrell

    September 4, 2011 at 12:13 pm

    Haha, a woman after my own heart! I had to unsubscribe from the City Deal emails because I just kept buying stuff I didn’t need/want!

     
  4. sevda

    September 28, 2011 at 1:00 am

    I did this course too and no way was it worth €255. I was very dissappointed with the brushes though, the only one I like is the lip brush. All the others are too stiff for blending, I’ll use them for concealer maybe. I wanted the silver cream shadow but it was out of stock.

    I did learn a bit more about contouring – I was doing it too low..

    There was an older lady there and she was delighted with learning to use eyeshadow to eyeline her brows and her lids etc with an eyeliner and she looks lovley at the end.

    The girl beside me was superpale and her foundation was a perfect match for her, she looked fab and was so happy she had finally found a proper colour match so 10 out of 10 on both counts there. I don’t regret it, it was a plesant few hours but am glad I only sent €79 on it.

     
    • themakeupgal

      September 28, 2011 at 11:11 am

      Hey sevda, I reckon they should advertise this course for real beginners, because otherwise you’ll learn very little. It is fun to do, especially if you are with a buddy, but yes absolutely agree at 79 euro it is worth it but not 255 euro. x

       
  5. MakeupEVERYdaygirl

    August 27, 2012 at 11:17 am

    Glad I read this review as I was tempted to buy the Groupon City Deal which has just come up again. I would not be a beginner as I am 49 years old and really need to ear make up EVERY day. I won’t even answer the door without it so I would probably have learned nothing on this course.

     

Leave a Reply

 
