RSS

Say ‘I do’ to Wedding Make Up

12 Jul

The Royals

There’s been a lot of celebrity and royal weddings recently which is fabulous!  Nothing better than checking out the dress, the flowers, the hair and of course the make up.  In the last few months we have seen Kate Middleton, Lily Allen, Charlene Wittstock and Mass Moss all get married.

What strikes me most is that to my mind the most beautiful bride in terms of the dress, hair, and make up was also the saddest looking bride, Charlene Wittstock.  Charlene looked amazing, the dress was stunning and showed off her athletic figure to a tee, and her makeup was the perfect execution of classical timeless bridal beauty and yet sadly she was an unhappy looking bride.   Irrespective of the rumours that abound, there’s no denying she did not look like a woman in love.

I’m not a fan of Kate Middletons eye makeup, neither on her wedding day nor in every photo I see of her, I’m deeply suspicious that it’s tattooed on, to me it looks exactly the same every time – just this Gals opinion.  I don’t think that the black eye liner suits the shape of her eyes in fact it makes them look pokey, but Kate Middleton positively glowed and radiated happiness on her wedding day, a real princess about to marrying her prince, the stuff of childhood fairy tales.  Although in my opinion Kate’s makeup was not as beautiful as Charlenes, Kate made for a more beautiful bride.

The Commoners

So that’s the toffs, but what about the commoners.  Well poor old Lily Allen, I say old but she’s only 26, looked tired (that’s probably the pregnancy) and Kate Moss looked half cut or locked!  (maybe the celebrations started early) I had expected Kate Moss to look better on the makeup front on her wedding day and was looking forward to seeing what she would do.  The dress and hair were very ‘her’, and reflected her personal style which was pretty cool, but the makeup was neither here nor there.  At 37 years old and a heavy smoker I think Kate should have realised that she would have required a bit more makeup to make her look radiant.  I’m sure she would have had access to a string of kick ass makeup artists who would have loved to have done Kate Moss wedding makeup!!

But then again, just like the other Kate she did look happy and in love, which at the end of the day is what your wedding day should be all about.  In complete direct contrast to Charlene Wittstock, I think Kate Moss makeup wise probably looked the worst out of the 4 brides but I think she looked the happiest.

In the end it doesn’t matter if your dress, hair, makeup and flowers are all perfect if you haven’t found your perfect prince!  But come on…I’m sorry dodgy wedding makeup still upsets this Gals makeup sensibilities, sorry I can’t help it!!!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on July 12, 2011 in Blog, Celebrity Makeup, Wedding Makeup

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Say ‘I do’ to Wedding Make Up

  1. Emma Farrell

    July 14, 2011 at 12:13 pm

    I am so glad that someone has the same opinion as me! I thought Kate Middleton really could have used an expert! Make-up totally didn’t suit her! Not to mention waaaay too much blusher! You can’t really see it in this pic, but in most pictures, it looks really heavy handed (and I am a big fan of blusher!) I said this to people and they looked at me like I was mad 🙂

     
  2. themakeupgal

    July 14, 2011 at 2:52 pm

    LOL – I know the look you’re talking about!! But rest assured I know there are a few us out there. I can’t help feeling it’s a bit like the emperor’s new clothes 😉 Is everyone afraid to tell the truth?BTW: Love your pic x

     

Leave a Reply

 
