RSS

Urge EU to Stick to Deadline for Banning Animal-Tested Cosmetics

19 Jun

A few days ago I did a post listing all the ingredients I was wearing on my face via my makeup, and it got me thinking about the products I use without a thought as to what’s in them, where they come from, how they are made, and if they are tested on animals or not…. So I checked out PETA (People for the Ethical Treatment of Animals) and I’ve just learned that the European Union is threatening to delay its total ban on the sale of animal-tested cosmetics.

The final deadline to ban the marketing of every cosmetics containing ingredients tested on animals is 11 March 2013, after which the shelves of every shop and internet supplier in Europe will be free of animal-tested cosmetics, which would be fantastic, but this ban is now likely to be delayed, some reports say by up to 10 years.

No animal should ever be subjected to testing for cosmetics or their ingredients, and I’ve taken action online to e-mail the European Commission and demand that there be no delay on the deadline.  It’s really important that as many people as possible contact them so that they understand how deeply people oppose cosmetics testing on animals. If you feel this way, then please find two minutes to take online action via the peta website.

Look, far be it from me to tell anyone what to do or what to buy, that’s a decision we all have to make for ourselves.  But since going through the PETA website I now know that quite a lot of the cosmetics I own are not 100% animal testing free and I’ve made the decision to no longer buy anything that has been tested on animals or has ingredients that have been tested on animals.

The good news is that there are lots of cosmetic suppliers that don’t test on animals and are Peta approved, for example, Urban Decay, The Body Shop, Burts Bees, Lush, Marks & Spencers and more companies.  If you have a few moments, check out the PETA website for products that they approve, it might change what you buy and how you feel about certain products.

Oh and I will be revisiting all my old posts/reviews over the coming week or so to add in if the product is PETA approved or not, so any readers will have the full facts before purchasing a product I’ve reviewed.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on June 19, 2011 in Blog, Brands, Cruelty Free, Product Review

 

Tags: , , , ,

3 responses to “Urge EU to Stick to Deadline for Banning Animal-Tested Cosmetics

  1. Emma Farrell

    June 26, 2011 at 6:43 pm

    Testing on animals is horrific and senseless! I signed the petition and shall tell my friends about it too. Thanks for sharing x

     
  2. DeeBee

    April 13, 2012 at 9:06 pm

    The body shop used to test on animals and are now owned by L’oreal, which says a lot about the company. Shame they didn’t sell to Lush instead a few years ago 😦

     
  3. Nil

    April 16, 2012 at 9:39 pm

    http://www.nocruelcosmetics.org/sign_up.php

    pls sign the petition and share with your friends…We all must be in the battle against cruel,barbaric animal testing,ladies…thank you in advance…

     

Leave a Reply

 
