RSS

Festival Fabulous?

13 Jun

With Oxegen and Galstonbury music festivals on the horizon, many of you may be contemplating what look you will wear, because lets face it, you probably don’t go around looking like an old unwashed hippy every day of the week!  So it requires careful consideration to nail that look.  Seriously though, I use to think that Sienna Miller and Kate Moss rocked the festival look, in fact I think they started it? But now I reckon they are just using it as an excuse to leave the house looking like an old bowl of porridge. Come on, really Sienna would a bit of makeup hurt?  And Kate put that fag down, it’s not cool, it’s only aging your skin. (Sienna is pictured at Coachella in America earlier in 2011 and Kate is pictured at the Isle of Wight Festival June 2011)

I think pop princess Pixie Lott at the Isle of Wight Festival nails the festival look in a really pretty way.  I don’t believe you need to match your eye shadow to your outfit but Pixies blue eye shadow is beautiful and the stick on gem stones are super cute, and a lot easier to do than drawing flowers on your face.  I love her hair too, it’s adorable!

Just because you’re standing in a field for 10 hours or sleeping in a tent over night is there really any need to lose all sense of grooming?  Then again maybe I’m just an old fashioned gal 😉

Update: Glamour.com have a how to festival makeup look by Make-up by M∙A∙C Senior Artist, Debbie Finnegan worth a look.

 
8 Comments

Posted by on June 13, 2011 in Blog, Celebrity Makeup

 

Tags: , ,

8 responses to “Festival Fabulous?

  1. Claire

    June 13, 2011 at 2:35 pm

    The one year I went to Oxegen (2 years ago) – I went make up free and had my hair tied back the whole time! With the irish weather and extreme mudiness that is oxegen I couldn’t have spent any time worrying about how I was looking! Most of my time was spent hoping I didn’t fall in the mud lol!

     
    • themakeupgal

      June 13, 2011 at 2:42 pm

      Oh I don’t think I would have coped very well with that. I think I’m allergic to mud that isn’t applied in a beauty salon with whale music on in the background 😉

       
  2. skinni peach

    June 13, 2011 at 3:35 pm

    really like your blog…just found it through Beaut.ie! thinking of going to electric picnic this year altho the camping part is scaring me a tad!

     
    • themakeupgal

      June 13, 2011 at 3:52 pm

      Hey Skinni Peach (cute name btw) as you can probably guess I’m not much of a festival goer!! I have a little rule ‘If I can’t wear heels then it’s not for me’ 😉 I love beaut.ie it’s a great site and actually I’ve just found a piece they did on surviving festivals back in 2007 that might help, but no mention of a bit of lippie or some waterproof mascara! x
      http://beaut.ie/blog/2007/surviving-festival-season-a-beautie-guide/

       
  3. Ruth Hirsch

    June 13, 2011 at 5:00 pm

    I used to to at least 1 festival a year but alas I’m just not into it any more (Old? Who said old?) but I always wore a bit/a lot of makeup to them and kept blotting sheets, mini mirror, eyeliner and gloss in my bag at all times! That is only about a quarter of what I usually lug about with me!!

     
    • themakeupgal

      June 13, 2011 at 5:32 pm

      Hey Ruth, I’m sensing you’re my type of Gal. I always have to have a bit of makeup with me, come to think of it I don’t think I have left the house without some makeup since I was 15!!

       
  4. Ruth Hirsch

    June 14, 2011 at 5:01 pm

    Oh stop…I carry so much on holidays its totally ridiculous!!! Luckily I have a VERY understanding fella as my collection has invaded the whole apartment since I did my makeup course!!

     
    • themakeupgal

      June 14, 2011 at 5:54 pm

      Nasty airports and their baggage allowances, it’s not fair, there should be extra luggage allowances for those of us with makeup addictions! It’s a disability you know 😉 I’m contemplating only traveling by ferry in future, that way I can bring a car load of makeup away with me!!! I know….I’m a saddo!!

       

Leave a Reply

 
