RSS

Discount Cosmetics Online Part 2: The Bad

10 Jun

FAKE PRODUCT SITES

For all the great websites offering genuine discounted cosmetics there are a lot of FAKE SITES, particularly for MAC products.  The quickest way to spot a website selling fake product is to start reading the ‘About us’ pages carefully.  A legitimate site will say that the product is 100% authentic.  Fake sites won’t quote this as they are opening themselves up to fraud.  They tend to make claims about how their product comes from the same factory as X product etc., and they may offer 100% satisfaction, but never 100% authentic product.

Here are just 3 sites that offer ‘replica’ MAC

www.maccosmetics4u.com  No where does it say 100% authentic product.  You can also tell it’s not the real deal as it sells a 180 and a 120 eye shadow palette, MAC don’t make these – this is a sure fire give away of imitation product.  Other little things that might alarm you e.g. simple spelling mistakes on tabs e.g. ‘Shippinng’ instead of shipping, no postal address and only a hotmail email address! www.macmakeupxo.com Interestingly enough they also spell shipping as shippinng. They state that ‘Our website:macmakeupxo.com is specialized in selling Mac makeups  and  all kinds of makeup products we sell are carefully selected, we provide a guarantee of 100% quality and lowest price for our customers..’  if you were to scan read this you might just see ‘100% and MAC’.  Very sneaky!  This is definitely another no-go site in my opinion.

www.mmwcosmetics.com Offering a range of mac cosmetics but it’s not genuine product. Read the About us section: ‘All of our cosmetics from the factory directly. they are made of the same ingredients and in original packge,so they are safe.they are not real,they are the best replicas.

They also state: ‘We dont accept the return & refund about the imitations or reals.’ Poor translation on the site, but basically what it is saying is that they don’t refund just because you discovered these were fake items!

The biggest issue with counterfeit product, aside from the fact that it destroys industries, is that at a personal level you have no idea what grade or quality the ingredients are that you are putting on your face!

It’s all too easy to be duped in to buying a counterfeit product:  I once fell victim to the same thing with a pair of shoes I bought – I know I should have realised that the price was too good to be true, but by the time I did my research and realised that I had ordered counterfeit product (I felt sick) the shoes were in transit.  The returns policy on these items, including a lot of these makeup sites, is really unnecessarily complicated. I spent 6 days and about 20 emails trying to get an ‘authorised return number’ and a postal address, they offered me replacements and options to order more and all sorts it was a nightmare.  I got about 90% of my money back (I had to pay a restocking charge – I didn’t care at that stage)

My tip on getting your money back from a counterfeit site should you fall victim is to never discuss or mention that the items are counterfit, give your reasons as ‘poor quality’ ‘bad workmanship’ ‘damaged goods’ etc.. and keep it polite, as emails progress mention you are ‘very disappointed with their customer service’ etc…  You won’t get all your money back, but hopefully you’ll get at least 90% of it back!

You might be interested in reading about some genuine discount cosmetic online stores.

Have you come across other counterfeit cosmetic sites that you’d like to share?  Let me know by leaving a comment, perhaps we can help save others falling into the trap.  Thanks x  

 
6 Comments

Posted by on June 10, 2011 in Blog, Books & Sites

 

Tags: , , ,

6 responses to “Discount Cosmetics Online Part 2: The Bad

  1. Latoya

    July 11, 2011 at 10:58 pm

    Please help me! I ordered from maccosmetics4u.com a few days ago. My bank called me and said the purchase looked fraudulent because it was coming from China! I’m so confused. Whether they sell real or fake Mac, I think the whole site is a scam. The contact number is fake. I called it. The person who picked up knew nothing about Mac, or how I got the number. The whole site isn’t real. And I’m out the money I spent. What should I do? Help!

     
    • themakeupgal

      July 11, 2011 at 11:36 pm

      Latoya that’s terrible!!! maccosmetics4u.com do sell fake MAC products. Although the site is quite poor I doubt the site is fake, if it is then I think your credit card company should be able to get your money back, what is more likely is that you will receive the products you ordered, but they will be fake, keep a track on the order system on their site. The problem with fake products as you probably know is that you have no idea what’s in them, if there are harmful substances etc.. If my experience with a fake pair of shoes is anything to go by, when you get your product, which I suspect you will, if you want to get your money back, be careful opening it, do not touch the product itself, take photos of it for your reference, but contact the company via email and get ready to go through a long and difficult process of returning the product, when looking to return the products act is if the product is ‘real’ don’t get annoyed and start saying it’s fake and demanding your money back, just say that you are not happy with the ‘quality’ of the product/packaging that it is ‘disappointing’. your 2nd and 3rd emails will be about how poor their customer service is etc…you might have to pay a restocking charge and delivery fees so you’ll probably end up out of pocket to some extent, I’m a bit concerned that they don’t have a return policy of any type at all. But the decision you have is to try to get some money back or chalk it up to experience. I really feel for you, believe me I do, it’s an awful feeling to have been duped into buying a fake product. Best of luck x

       
  2. michelle

    February 11, 2012 at 3:45 am

    do you know if this makeup is fake? cause the site claims thats its 100% genuine but im still not sure

    http://www.macmakeupx.com/

     
    • themakeupgal

      April 14, 2012 at 6:33 pm

      http://www.macmakeupx.con state that they ‘specialized in selling Mac makeups and all kinds of makeup products we sell are carefully selected, we provide a guarantee of 100% quality and lowest price for our customers,..’ a statement on quality not the same thing as saying 100% genuine, what you want to see is 100% genuine MAC product, if they don’t say that then I’d be very cautious about buying from them.

       
  3. Marketa

    March 5, 2012 at 10:06 pm

    I found also this website with MAC product: http://www.macmakeupwholesale.net/
    Do you have any experience with it?

     
    • themakeupgal

      April 14, 2012 at 6:28 pm

      I haven’t had any experience with macmakeupwholesale.net but they don’t look like mac products to me?

       

Leave a Reply

 
