RSS

Face Sculpting

07 Jun

I do love a bit of contouring and sculpting to highlight and define features it can really make a dramatic difference to the perceived shape of your face.

Take inspiration from Kim Kardashian who is undoubtedly the queen of sculpting and use a lighter coloured powder for highlighting or for bringing forward areas of your face such as cheeks, forehead, tip of chin etc.. and use a darker powder on areas you want to receed e.g. cheek hollows, jaw line, breath or width of nose etc. where ever it’s needed, all depending on the shape of your face and characteristics of your features. 

There are lots of contouring products on the market, but you can also use powders you already have, from matt eyeshadows to press face powders in varying colours, can achieve a similar look.  Using foundations in different colours can work quite well also, just remember to blend and blend some more.  If you are anything like me, then you will have several shades from light to dark that you bought in error that you could play with!

MUFE v Fraulein38 contouring palette?

The two contouring palettes I have are: MUFE ‘compact modellers’ duo face powder compact and Fraulein38 Compact Powder Palette.

Powder: What I like about the Fraulein 38 palette is that the powders are lighter in intensity of colour making it much easier to use.  On the first sweep a very light amount of powder product is laid down you almost have to build it up, which helps prevent a heavy look.  The MUFE product is definitely more pigmented and I find I have to be very careful with as it’s really strong and there’s a danger of putting too much on and looking a bit clownish, don’t get me wrong it’s lovely stuff and over time you do get use to how lightly you need to apply this, especially the darker shade.

Packaging:

The Fraulein palette is a bit difficult to keep clean as the pan surround is made of some sort of felt material?  You can see the dust on around the pans!  No problem with the MUFE packaging on that score, it has a wipeable foam surround on the inside.

I really like the look and feel of the MUFE palette, the clear plastic cover and the clasp closing mechanism, it also feels quite substantial in your hand and is well padded which is great in transit.

The Fraulein38 palette packaging is uninspiring, just a plain black plastic box, no text – no pattern – nothing, I didn’t post a photo of it, because it looks like a black block!

Size of product:

MUFE: palette only has two colours, a highlighter and a contour colour, although you can buy different sets for different skin tones.

Fraulein38 you get 6 colours, from white to bronze which is more adaptable for a range of skin tones.   The pink/peach colours are nice for adding some ‘heat’ back in to your skin.

In the MUFE palette there is 10g of each product which is a lot, compared to the Fraulein 38 palette which only has 3.5g in each pan, so big difference there!

Cost:

The Fraulein 38 palette costs  €10.99 + €3.00 shipping

I’ve had the MUFE compact for ages, I don’t recall what I paid for it, around €30ish I think!

So doing the math on that one: 1.50 per gram of MUFE product and 0.66 per gram of Fraulein38 product not much in it really when you break it down!

Overall:

It’s hard not to fall in love with something just because it has a fancy brand name and swankier packaging.  So much of you really wants and needs to believe that it must be better because you paid more for it! But sometimes that’s not always the case and much as I love my MUFE palette I keep coming back the Fraulein 38 palette, to me it’s feels like more fun to play with.

 

Tags: , , , ,

3 responses to “Face Sculpting

  1. Ruth Hirsch

    June 13, 2011 at 1:02 pm

    I’ve been trying SO hard to master this…powders are not working for me. Think I will give give cream based products a go next. I know all the theory about it & where to lighten or shade for different face shapes but I can’t get the perfect blend I’m after…sigh!

     
    • themakeupgal

      June 13, 2011 at 1:25 pm

      Judging by your photo I reckon you’re probably a perfectionist – that’s an amazing look, I’m in awe!! so don’t know if I could offer any real advice here, but for what it’s worth I sometimes use foundation instead, the same foundation brand/type but in a shade lighter and a shade darker , I think it can be a bit more subtle and natural looking and way easier to blend.

       
  2. B.O.N (@viethaluu)

    February 21, 2012 at 1:57 pm

    @ Ruth: I dont like to contour my face with powder too, it looks thick and fake. What I often to is to get a little dark brown eyeshadow to a wet sponge which had egdes, then I mix with foundation ( I put on my hand) and apply to the hollow of my cheek.. that works nicely… Yeah, u should turn your mouth to one side to see the position of your cheek bone and apply beneath…. Gud luck

     

Leave a Reply

 
