RSS

‘I Wanna Go’ Get Blue Eye Shadow

07 Jun

Britney is looking so fantastic these days, she’s really got her groove back and I’m absolutely loving her eye makeup on the cover of her new single ‘I Wanna Go’ out June 7th or 8th? I haven’t heard the song yet, it could be pants, but I want to talk about her makeup not her music!

I’m always a little terrified of blue eye liner as it brings back nightmares from the early eighties in fact I think a Rimmel blue eye liner was the very first bit of makeup I ever owned.  I know lots of people are wearing blue eye shadows and blue eye liners but I think Britney really shows us how to wear blue successfully by restricting it to below the lower lashes.If you look closely, her lower lashes are lined with a black eyeliner along the outer three quarters.  Then below that and blended through, it looks like a soft electric blue pencil or shadow has been used along the full width of her eyes into a v shape at the corners and blended up onto the upper lash line creating a very soft look.  It appears she has a darker, perhaps charcoal, colour across her lids, with the brow bone just lightly highlighted, and of course a healthy coating of black mascara to finish it off.

There’s a heap load of blue eye makeup products on the market across the majority of brands, see just a small sample of blue eye shadow from MAC, Rimmel, and L’Oreal in the image.  I’m sure you probably have a blue eyeshadow some where in your makeup bag as part of a kit or palette.  I don’t know about you but ‘I wanna go’ try this!

 

 

I must confess, I’m a bit of a closet Britney Spears fan!!  I saw her in the O2 in Dublin 2 years ago, and yeah so what if she mimed her way through the concert (bar one song – Everytime’), it was a fantastic show and a real piece of theatrical entertainment.

 

Tags: , , , ,

4 responses to “‘I Wanna Go’ Get Blue Eye Shadow

  1. Ruth Hirsch

    June 12, 2011 at 5:52 pm

    Just got a ticket to see her in Dublin October’11 and I’m so excited to see her costumes and make up!!

     
    • themakeupgal

      June 12, 2011 at 6:00 pm

      Oh I’m jealous, I had to fight the temptation to buy a ticket, I need to watch the cash situation 😦 She puts on such a great show. It’s lovely to see her back looking so fit and fabulous!

       
  2. Ruth Hirsch

    June 13, 2011 at 1:00 pm

    Yeah I can’t really afford it…but a week of bread & water will be so worth it! I love colourful makeup myself and really think this look on Britney makes her look so youthful & fresh.

     
    • themakeupgal

      June 13, 2011 at 1:26 pm

      Ah yes.. I see a diet and a ticket to Britney!!! Now that’s worth considering – love it xx

       

Leave a Reply

 
