RSS

New Maybelline Gel Eyeliner Review

02 Jun

From the outset I have to say that I was really impressed with this product.  I usually use Clinique’s gel eyeliner and I found that Maybelline’s gel eyeliner compares very well to it.  In fact I’d say it’s a tiny bit better!  (opps can’t believe I just said that!!)

Aisling from beaut.ie on TV3’s Xposé compared it to Bobbi Brown’s gel eyeliner and was impressed by this product, so that’s gotta be a good thing!

In my opinion Maybelline’s gel eyeliner is a great little product at a great price of €11.99 and comes with a really nice little brush that is full sized (unlike Clinique that give you a dolly sized brush!)  So how does it compare to my usual fav Clinique? 

Well, see the attached photograph of Clinique gel eyeliner (on left eye) and Maybelline gel eyeliner (on right eye).  Sorry my eyes look a bit red in this photo, I had just removed the makeup I was wearing to try these two products out.  There’s very little difference in how they lasted throughout the evening, in fact I would say that the colour intensity in the Maybelline gel eyeliner was better.

So I was impressed with the brush and the colour, and it wore very well all evening, it didn’t flake or smudge so thumbs up on that score.

The amount of product you get is pretty miserable, given the size of the box.  I was expecting something larger or at least the size of my Clinique gel eyeliner.  I reckon there’s at least 2.5 times the quantity in the Clinique product.  In comparison and volume for the money, I think Clinique is a better buy at €18 for 5ml, but given the short shelf life of gel products of about 6 months, then perhaps the smaller, cheaper Maybelline product is a better buy after all?

Overall I guess the question is: Is it better to buy the smaller Maybelline Gel Eyeliner twice and therefore have enough to probably last you 12 months (each pot lasting you 6 months) than it is to buying one larger one by Clinique that you should dispose of after 6 months?  I’m thinking Maybelline x 2?

One downside is that the Maybelline gel eyeliner is currently only available in Black, I’d love one in brown too!!

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 2, 2011 in Blog, Clinique, Eyeliner, Maybelline

 

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
