RSS

Summer Foundations – pt 3: Mineral Powder Foundation

24 May

L’Oreal True Match Minerals: What the product promises: ‘Evens skin tone like a foundation.  Light as a powder.  Long lasting.  SPF 15’ available in 9 shades.

I only used this product as it was given to me by a friend (the colour didn’t suit her) and admitedly the thought of using a powder as a foundation at first freaked me out a bit.  True Match Minerals is a nice product, it’s light weight, goes on easy with a decent range of colours.  In terms of application, I shake some product out on to piece of tissue and gently roll the brush into the product and tap it off to ensure you don’t have too much on the brush.  Then apply to the face with the brush using light circular motions and blend as you go.  Start from the centre of your face and work out, if you have the correct colour you shouldn’t need to go into the hair line.   It may well even skin tone, but it does nothing for my skin texture, I found it a bit drying.  The packaging is clumsy, I find it awkward to open both sections, and it’s liable to crack, which I hate in makeup packaging.

At €22/23 it’s a bit on the dear side, I’m just glad I didn’t buy it myself.  I know there are other better mineral powder brands, but based on this experience I don’t think I’ll bother, I’ll need some convincing!

Other Summer Foundation Reviews you might be interested in:

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “Summer Foundations – pt 3: Mineral Powder Foundation

  1. simone

    June 8, 2011 at 12:44 pm

    i have to say i’ve never tried the l’oreal mineral powder foundation, because i was steered in the direction of bare essentials. also the packaging put me off slightly. i have very sensitive skin, dry and of course the redness that comes with rosecea. this is the only foundation i have used in the past 2 years that gives me full coverage with no dry patches. it doesn’t feel dry or heavy…you sort’ve forget you’re wearing it. hope this helps 🙂

     
    • themakeupgal

      June 8, 2011 at 1:06 pm

      Thanks for that Simone!! I’ll have to give Bare Essentials a go. It’s good to know that it’s works on really sensitive skin and still delivers coverage, that’s fab!

       
  2. Kat

    July 6, 2011 at 10:22 am

    Unfortunately I bought this and hardly wore it because of the quality. It filled lines and did not stay on well and too much shimmer. Finally binned!

     
  3. themakeupgal

    July 6, 2011 at 12:02 pm

    Oh Kat, I just hate when that happens, when you end up binning a new purchase. The eternal hunt for the holy grail of foundations!!

     

Leave a Reply

 
