RSS

MAC 217 Brush Dupe

20 Sep

While looking for something I could get free with my Boots No. 7 voucher, I headed to the No. 7 tools section and picked up a Boots No 7 blend and contour brush.  I have never seen this particular brush in the range before so I don’t know if it is a new addition or not.  This brush which retails at €7.00 is technically free when you use your boots voucher and is a dead ringer for the MAC 217 brush.

The No. 7 brush is slightly smaller, in that it is not as densely packed as the MAC 217 but that in no way diminishes it’s performance, it really does exactly the same job.  The No. 7 brush is just as soft and does not shed.   I love this brush for blending and softening down any harsh eye shadow lines to create a more seamless appearance. Take note that these are made from natural hair, so that may not suit some people.

No. 7 Blend and Contour Brush head

Comparing it side by side with MAC 217 brush, they look the same size, and you’ll have to take my word for it that they feel very similar to the touch they could fool Stevie Wonder!

MAC 217 versus Boots No.7 Blend & Contour

I think these brushes are a great way to get value from your Boots vouchers.  Cornflakegirl did a review of the Crease Brush from the No. 7 range.

As a general rule I find No 7 boots brushes to be of a good quality and have had a large powder brush of theirs for years now that is still holding up great.  In my opinion, the No 7 blend and contour brush is a great dupe for MAC 217 brush and well worth adding to your brush collection.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on September 20, 2011 in Blog, Boots No.7, Brands, Product Review, Tools

 

Tags: , , , ,

4 responses to “MAC 217 Brush Dupe

  1. cornflakegirl

    September 20, 2011 at 4:10 pm

    I like the sound of this and am always looking for things to spend my No7 vouchers on so that’s my next purchase sorted. Thanks for posting about it.

     
    • themakeupgal

      September 20, 2011 at 4:16 pm

      Thanks Cornflakegirl – you got to LOVE a freebie!

       
  2. yolandaas

    March 5, 2012 at 8:30 pm

    Great post.. I just bought this brush today! x

     
  3. Jess

    July 4, 2012 at 9:55 am

    I recently received the MAC 217 as a birthday gift. I love it, however, I felt I needed another for more colour or clean blending. Thank you so much for bringing this brush to light, I always chuck those No7 vouchers out, this will definitely be my next purchase! Thank you so much, this is exactly what I needed :)

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 62 other followers

